Who We Are

The Financial Services Commission (FSC) is an integrated regulatory body, established on April 1st, 2011 by virtue of the Financial Services Commission Act (2010). We are responsible for supervising and regulating non-bank financial institutions in Barbados, particularly those entities licensed or registered under the following Acts of Parliament:

  • Insurance Act, Cap. 310
  • Occupational Pension Benefits Act, Cap. 350B
  • Securities Act, Cap. 318A
  • Mutual Funds Act, Cap. 320B
  • Co-operatives Societies Act, Cap. 378A (as it relates to the services provided by a credit union)

FSC’s main functions include those previously discharged by the former Securities Commission, Supervisor of Insurance and Pensions, and the Co-operatives Department, in so far as it relates to credit unions. The organisation is therefore responsible for:

  •  Administering specified enactments, including the licensing or registering of financial institutions
  •  Supervising and regulating the operation of financial institutions
  •  Establishing standards for institutional strengthening, for the control and management of risk in the financial services sector and for the protection of consumers and creditors of financial institutions
  •  Promoting stability, public awareness and public confidence in the operations of financial institution



The Financial Services Commission mourns the passing of its former Board Chairman, Sir Frank Alleyne, who served from 2011 through 2018 . The Board of Commissioners, Management and Staff extend heartfelt sympathies to his daughters Dawn, Franka, Shirley and Nicole, and to the entire family circle. May he rest in peace.

  • We have moved. Please ensure that your records are up-to-date. Our new mailing address is:
    Bay Corporate Building, Bay Street, St. Michael Barbados BB14038.